IMG_5148

Sunday I went outside Bucharest, with a couple of friends to a rally event, The Sinaia Trophy. In a small mountain city, just a couple of hours away, by train. The change of scenery sounded like fun, and I thought that I might as well take some pictures.

IMG_5115

First I thought to pack the 5d Mark II. Mounted the 85mm f:1.8 lens and left it on the desk. After minutes of thinking, I decided that I would love to have the 8-16mm. Which meant going for the 600d. The batteries were charged, and I added the 24mm in the bag. The ultra-wide is bulky and I wanted to enjoy the day, without struggling between the lenses or having useless extra weight.

IMG_5046

It’s the second time I went to a rally to take pictures. The first rally pictures seem quite dull right now, probably that’s why I went for the 8-16mm. I was hoping for more dynamic compositions.

IMG_5384

We got on the track, found a nice spot, and I started shooting (as in taking pictures). The weather was perfect, sunny with a bunch of clouds around, so taking pictures with a fast shutter speed and nice ISO was not a problem.

IMG_5209

After a couple of nice sharp images, I started to get bored. The cars were nice,  the scenery was alright, but I wanted to try something different. It was then when I figured out that I didn’t try the panning technique. Years of photography and no interest in panning so far.

IMG_4871

In theory, I knew what I had to do. Switched to TV mode, closed the diaphragm, AI Servo focus (the cars were moving so fast that I don’t think it really had time to focus on the go), and some tinkering on the shutter speed. Tried the 1/60, 1/80 … 1/200.

IMG_4951

Even though the Canon 600d Continuous Shooting mode (burst), takes only about 3 shots in a second, I think it was enough. I had a great time panning.

IMG_5056

Probably the 24mm wasn’t a good choice, since it’s not that far from the 16mm, and the 18-55mm is not that heavy in comparison. It’s debatable. Anyway, I spent most of the day with the 8-16mm mounted on the camera.

I didn’t get the focus I wanted in most of the pictures, but, for a first timer, I think I did a good job.

Here is a link to the whole album I posted on the Tryingtodoart FB page.(about 190 rally pictures)

Thank you for stopping by!  😉

Leave a Reply

